On March 2, Team Mustad took home the championship at the World Horseshoeing Class by besting 15 other teams after the 3 days of competition. The team consisted of Scottish farriers Lewis Balfour, Devin Crerar, Paul Robinson and David Varini. Coming in second was Team Horseshoes Plus (Tim McPhee, Tyler Marshall, Ben Mangan and Mark Schneider) and third was Team Handmade Wrangler (Steven Beane, Andrew Casserly, Jack Casserly and Grant Watt). The World Horseshoeing Classic is produced by the Kentucky Horseshoeing School and World Championship Blacksmiths.

The judges for this year's Classic were Bob Pethick of New Jersey, Andy Martin of Wales and Colain Duret of Alberta.

In the competition, each team is made of four members. Each team shoes a horse on each of the 3 days (draft, hunter and roadster, respectively). Each competitor will trim, make a shoe, nail and finish a corner of each horse. The only thing that a competitor is allowed to do to a shoe that is not their own is strike, brush or move in/out of the fire. A competitor is not allowed to make any other kind of farrier act upon a shoe that is not theirs. Should they, the team is disqualified. 

You can read more about the results, scores and see images from the World Horseshoeing Classic in the April 2019 issue of American Farriers Journal.