Nominate A Rising Shoeing Star

In 2008, American Farriers Journal established the "Rising Shoeing Star" program which honors outstanding young shoers who are enjoying successful careers as farriers 3 years after graduation from one of North America's more than 60 public and private horseshoeing schools.Rising Shoeing Stars

Co-sponsors of this program include Electric Hoof Knife, Hawthorne Products, Nature Farms Farrier Supply, R.J. Matthews Co., Texas Farrier Supply and Vettec. Each firm is a leader in recognizing the value of developing new players in the equine footcare industry.

2018's program will honor students who graduated from horseshoeing school in 2014 and have developed a successful career in the equine footcare business.

An independent panel of hoof-care industry leaders will evaluate the nominations and select three winners. The winning "Rising Shoeing Star" farrier will receive $1,000 and also have his or her expenses paid to the 2017 International Hoof-Care Summit in Cincinnati in January to accept the award in front of the industry's leading hoof-care professionals. Two runner-ups will each receive $500 awards. The three winners will also receive a plaque, a 1-year subscription to American Farriers Journal, free Summit registration and the American Farriers Journal "Kitchen Sink" package.

The schools that produce the three winners will receive a plaque and the American Farriers Journal "Kitchen Sink" package.

To enter, send your nominations by July 31, 2017 to: Awards, American Farriers Journal, P.O. Box 624, Brookfield, WI 53008-0624. Fax: 262-782-1252. Email:

Past Rising Shoeing Stars


  • Mike Caldwell, Heartland Horseshoeing School
  • Keith Green, Danny Ward Horseshoeing School
  • Robert Whitt, Sierra South Horseshoeing School


  • Sara Ellen Pennell, Heartland Horseshoeing School
  • Tom Richmond, Heartland Horseshoeing School
  • Allen Rynda, Minnesota School of Horseshoeing


  • Steve Hedges, Midwest Horseshoeing School
  • Martin Zimmer, Kentucky Horseshoeing School
  • Joe Nygren, Heartland Horseshoeing School


  • Gwen Nardi, Kentucky Horseshoeing School
  • Maximo Gomez, Pacific Coast Horseshoeing School
  • Armando Herrera, Heartland Horseshoeing School


  • Jake Giguere, Pacific Coast Horseshoeing School
  • Justin Court, Kentucky Horseshoeing School
  • Wayne Whitson, Lookout Mountain Horseshoeing School


  • Diego Almeida, Midwest Horseshoeing School
  • Austin Fisher, Oklahoma Horseshoeing School
  • Riley Kirkpatrick, Heartland Horseshoeing School


  • Cassidy Robyn, Pacific Coast Horseshoeing School
  • Sarah Coltrin, Midwest Horseshoeing School
  • Sam Zalesky, Heartland Horseshoeing School


  • Joanna Bailey, Pacific Coast Horseshoeing School
  • Eddie Cleckler, Lookout Mountain Horseshoeing School
  • Victor Frisco, Kentucky Horseshoeing School


  • Brody White, Pacific Coast Horseshoeing School
  • Ellie Pugh, Heartland Horseshoeing School
  • Jayce Fulbright, Montana State University's farrier science program

Top Articles

Current Issue


American Farriers Journal

American Farriers Journal is the “hands-on” magazine for professional farriers, equine veterinarians and horse care product and service buyers.
View More

Must Read Free Eguides

Download these helpful knowledge building tools

View More
Top Directory Listings