International Equine Veterinarian Hall of Fame

International Equine Veterinarian Hall of FameEstablished in 1997, the International Equine Veterinarian Hall of Fame honors veterinarians who have contributed to the knowledge and recognition of proper hoof care for horses. Veterinarians are nominated in two classes: practicing equine vets who work closely with farriers in the field; and college and industry vets involved in teaching, research or other important aspects of hoof-care education.

Members are selected by current Hall of Fames members as well as members of the International Horseshoeing Hall of Fame.

Nominations for the 2024 class will be accepted from the public until May 31, 2024. To nominate, please complete the International Equine Veterinarian Hall of Fame nomination form or submit 1- to 3-page summary explaining why your nominee should be inducted to the hall. To enter, send your nominations by May 31, 2024 to: Awards, American Farriers Journal, P.O. Box 624, Brookfield, WI 53008-0624. Fax: 262-782-1252. If you have any questions, please email

Members of the International Equine Veterinarian Hall of Fame

  • Andy Anderson, Broken Arrow, Okla.
  • Osamu Aoki, Tokyo, Japan
  • Willem Back, Utrecht, The Netherlands
  • Olin Balch, Pullman, Wash.
  • Bill Baker, Hawkinsville, Ga.
  • Marvin Beeman, Littleton, Colo.
  • James Belknap, Columbus, Ohio
  • Robert Bowker, East Lansing, Mich.
  • Larry Bramlage, Lexington, Ky.
  • Raul Bras, Lexington, Ky.
  • Robert Boswell, Wellington, Fla.
  • Florian Buchner, Vienna, Austria
  • Kent Carter, College Station, Texas
  • Hans Castelijins, Tuscany, Italy
  • Hilary Clayton, East Lansing, Mich.
  • Susan Dyson, Newmarket, England
  • Phil Edler, Hudson, Iowa
  • Babak Faramarzi, Pomona, Calif.
  • Bryan Fraley, Lexington, Ky.
  • Nicholas Frank, Grafton, Mass.
  • Raymond Geor, East Lansing, Mich.
  • Dallas O. Goble, Strawberry Plains, Tenn.
  • Frank Gravlee, Cherokee, Ala.
  • John Hickman, Newmarket, England
  • David Hood, College Station, Texas
  • Robert Hunt, Lexington, Ky.
  • Phil Johnson, Columbia, Mo.
  • Al Kane, Pierce, Colo.
  • Matthew Mackay-Smith, White Post, Va.
  • Richard Mansmann, Apex, N.C.
  • Cathy McGowan, Liverpool, England
  • Jay Merriam, Uxbridge, Mass.
  • Christopher “Kit” Miller, Katonah, N.Y.
  • Rustin Moore, Columbus, Ohio
  • Scott Morrison, Lexington, Ky.
  • Bill Moyer, College Station, Texas
  • Tookie Myers, Chesapeake, Va.
  • Frank Nickles, East Lansing, Mich.
  • Stephen O’Grady, Keswick, Va.
  • James Orsini, New Bolton, Pa.
  • Andy Parks, Athens, Ga.
  • Duncan Peters, Lexington, Ky.
  • Tom Phillips, Aurora, Ill.
  • George Platt, Eagle, Colo.
  • Scott Pleasant, Blacksburg, Va.
  • Chris Pollitt, Queensland, Australia
  • Ric Redden, Versailles, Ky.
  • W. Rich Redding, Raleigh, N.C.
  • Carlos Rodriguez, Caracas, Venezuela
  • Lars Roepstorff, Uppsala, Sweden
  • James Rooney, Queenstown, Md.
  • Jack Roth, Oklahoma City, Okla.
  • Amy Rucker, Columbia, Mo.
  • Wolfgang Otto Sack, Ithaca, N.Y.
  • Ted Stashak, Fort Collins, Colo.
  • John Steele, Vernon, N.Y.
  • Michael Steward, Shawnee, Okla.
  • John Stewart, Dumfries, Scotland 
  • Sue Stover, Davis, Calif.
  • Terry Swanson, Littleton, Colo.
  • Oscar Swanstrom, Louisville, Ky.
  • Debra Taylor, Auburn, Ala.
  • Tracy Turner, St. Paul, Minn.
  • Beth Valentine, Sweet Home, Ore.
  • Andrew van Eps, Queensland, Australia
  • John Walmsely, Haverfordwest, England
  • Renate Weller, Herts, England
  • Donald Walsh, Pacific, Mo.
  • Harry Werner, Granby, Conn.
  • J.D. Wheat, Sonoma, Calif.
  • Janice Young, Cave Creek, Ariz.



Top Articles

Current Issue

View More

Current Issue

View More

Must Read Free Eguides

Download these helpful knowledge building tools

View More
Top Directory Listings