The American Association of Equine Practitioners (AAEP) announced several award winners and incoming officers during its annual convention and trade show.

Introduced as AAEP president for 2021 was Scott Hay, president and managing shareholder of Teigland, Franklin and Brokken DVMs in Fort Lauderdale, Fla. Rob Franklin, a partner in Fredericksburg Equine Veterinary Services in Fredericksburg, Texas, as well as a founding director of the Equitarian Initiative, will be vice president. Amy Grice, a veterinary business consultant in Virginia City, Mont., will be treasurer.

The board of directors will welcome Emma Adam, an equine outreach veterinarian at the University of Kentucky Department of Veterinary Services in Lexington, Ky.; Erin Denney-Jones, owner of Florida Equine Veterinary Services in Clermont, Fla.; and James Zeliff, founding and managing partner of Allegheny Equine in Murrysville, Pa.

The award recipients announced at the 2020 virtual event included:

• Sherry Johnson, senior partner of Equine Sports Medicine in Whitesboro, Texas, and partner and co-founder of Equine CORE, received the President’s Award. The award recognizes an AAEP member who demonstrates a dedication to the association by contributing significant time and expertise to benefit the horse.

• Scott Palmer, AAEP past president, received the Sage Kester “Beyond the Call” Award. The award recognizes Palmer’s exceptional service to the AAEP and his commitment to equine welfare.

• Susan White, the Josiah Meigs Distinguished Professor, Emeritus at the University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine, received the Distinguished Life Member Award. It recognizes White’s service to AAEP during her 40 years of volunteer leadership.

Stephen O’Grady, owner of Virginia Therapeutic Farriery and a member of the International Equine Veterinarian Hall of Fame, received the Distinguished Educator Award for Mentorship. The award recognizes his contributions on thee development and training of equine practitioners through mentoring.