International Equine Veterinarian Hall of Fame member Dr. Larry Bramlage will be awarded the Dinny Phipps Award in early August, according to the Grayson-Jockey Club Research Foundation.

The Dinny Phipps Award was created in 2017 to honor those dedicated to equine health. The Phipps family, Frank Stronach, John C. Oxley, Michael Del Giudice, and Dell Hancock are previous recipients. The award will be presented on Aug. 3 at the Round Table Conference on Matters Pertaining to Racing.

“Dr. Bramlage’s contributions to The Jockey Club and Grayson-Jockey Club Research Foundation are unmatched,” says Stuart S. Janney III, chairman of The Jockey Club. “Not only is he one of the best surgeons in our industry, but he is one of the best advocates for our sport and our athletes.”

Bramlage is an equine orthopedic surgeon who has received numerous international awards and accolades including The Jockey Club Medal, the Tierlink Hochmoor Prize, the distinguished alumni award from Ohio State University, the Alumni Fellow Award from Kansas State University, a British Equine Veterinary Association’s Special Award of Merit, the American College of Veterinary Surgeons Legends Award, the Thoroughbred Club Testimonial Award, a two-time recipient of the American Association of Equine Practitioners Distinguished Service Award and is a 2014 inductee to the International Equine Veterinarian Hall of Fame.

“This is especially meaningful for me based on who it is named after,” Bramlage says. “The Phipps family has played a big role in my career by giving me some credibility early on when I was still ‘wet behind the ears.’ I will look forward to this event and will always cherish the honor.”