hall of fame

Shoeing Honors For Three

This year's International Horseshoeing Hall of Fame members went well beyond the call of duty

THE CLASS OF 2002. Joining the elite ranks of the International Horseshoeing Hall of Fame this year are (left to right) Henry Heymering, Lester Hollenback and Seamus Brady.

The horseshoeing business certainly owes a tremendous amount of gratitude to this year’s three inductees into the International Horseshoeing Hall of Fame.

While it’s noble enough just to be in a profession doing back-breaking work for an entire lifetime, it’ s certainly another thing to advance the business for future generations. This year’s inductees into the Hall of Fame, Seamus Brady of Bridgewater, N.J.,

Henry Heymering of Frederick, Md., and Lester Hollenback of Deltona, Fla., all have helped move the practice of horseshoeing into the 21st century.

Brady, Heymering and Hollenback were nominated by fellow farriers, trainers, owners, family and friends.

Once nominations were in, the list was trimmed to 54 candidates, who were then voted on by the current members of the Hall of Fame. Sponsored jointly by American Farriers Journal and the Kentucky Derby Museum, the International Horseshoeing Hall of Fame now has 78 members. 

Seamus Brady, Bridgewater, N.J.

After becoming part of the Irish Equestrian Team as a shoer when he was only 10 years old, Seamus Brady brought his skills to the United States at the invitation of the United State Equestrian Team and eventually became an official farrier  of the U.S. Olympic Team, a position in which he has served for many years.

Having been in the business for more than 40 years, it is thought that…

To view the content, please subscribe or login.

Top Articles

Current Issue

View More

Current Issue

View More

Must Read Free Eguides

Download these helpful knowledge building tools

View More
Top Directory Listings